Interactive Scenarios Question

BioGears newbie here. What is the best way to create interactive (i.e., human-in-the-loop) scenarios using the BioGears SDK? I have looked at the how-to programs that are bundled with the SDK, which seem to be good examples of creating scenarios completely within source code. I have also looked at some of the example XML scenarios, and I see that there is an ExecuteScenario method in the PhysiologyEngine class. Suppose, though, that we wanted to have a pre-programmed XML scenario that the user could then interact with? For example, the XML file would indicate that a hemorrhage occurred with certain properties at a certain time, and then the user would perform some actions to stop the hemorrhage. Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

Best Answers

• abrayabray Entry Level
    Answer ✓
    A scenario is a static execution of the engine, which means it will execute all the actions provided in the scenario and then the engine will stop.
    If you want any kind of interaction with the engine, you will need to control the execution of the engine so that you can pass in any kind of user interaction to the engine via the ProcessAction call.

To set up a dynamic engine, you just instantiate an engine object, initialize it with the patient file you want.
    In your case you would then create a Hemorrhage action for the engine to process.
    Then you have to keep advancing time, while waiting for any user input.

We don't have any way (as of now) to Initialize an engine instance with an XML file, that you could then get control of and manually advance time and feed it actions with, but it would not be too difficult to create that type of engine harness.

I think the key thing to understand is that you need to control the advancement of time for the engine. It would be best if you controlled it from the instantiation of the engine and through out it's lifetime.